The Binnacle’s Seventh Annual Ultra-Short Competition

Look for me down there in purple and a couple of writing buds too.

The Binnacle is proud to announce the winners and honorees in its Seventh Annual International Ultra-Short Competition.

Top Prose Prize: Emily Jiang – Wedding Song

Top Poetry Prize:Toni Giarnese – Dancing

Top UMM Student Prize: Bunny Richards – Lions in Winter

Honorable Mentions

Adrian S. Potter – Incantation

Alan C. Baird – Hack

Anne Earney – Blue

Barb McMakin – Hopscotch

Barbara Fleming Phillips – First Day of High School

Britt Kaufmann – Last SongCaroline Michalicki – Underground Spudway

Christina Beasley – How the Natural Collects the Divine

Colin Meldrum – House-sitting

Daphne Nichols – Ed and Dorrie, 2009

David Mohan – Before the Lights Went Out

David Jack – There Ance Wis A Laddie Ca’d John – A Scots Limerick

Dave Yost – Homeostasis

David Ochs – All in a day

Debbie Okun Hill – Lying on a Beach Blanket Too Long

Diane Smith – The Rodeo

Donna L. Turello – Miracle

Ed Parrot – Tiburon

Ellen LaFleche – Jesús, the Miner of Gold

Elyse Shapiro – Seasonally Tragic

Emily Spreng Lowery – The Birthday Party

Fehmida Zakeer – Auspicious Numbers

Gay Degani – What’s Left

Geoffrey Hoffman – Ruth among the Teacups

Graves Collins – Ghormley, My Shamrock Heritage

Harold Bauld – Trivium

Hema Raman – Go Figure

Jari Thymian – From the Other Side

Jiayan Yu – Dormant

John Gosslee – The Paradise Birds

Josh Byer – A Rough Idle

K. S. Dearsley – The Case of the Geometric Pattern

Kathleen Rivera – Cloud Watching

Kelly O’Neill – In a Moment

Lori Pollard-Johnson – Easy It Ain’t

Lynda La Rocca – The Houseguest

Margot Zucker Mindich – Coming In On the Fire Island Ferry 1977

Max Speed – Hands Off

Meg Eden – Names

Mitchell Noel Kelly – Off the Top of Your Head

Myra Merritt – Beyond

Patti Jazanoski – As Jehovah Is My Witness

Petra Angelen – My Secret Aunt Who Never Was

Pervin Saket – Neighbors

Philip Sultz – The Speck

Rachel Cordasco – (R)evolution

Robert Craig – A Gig to be Missed

Russell Marsh – Late Shift

Ruth Almon – The Change

Samantha Priestley – The Talent

Sue Ann Connaughton – An Elegant Revenge

SuzAnne C. Cole – Pyramids

V S Adams – Past Contempt

Vanessa Gebbie – Swarf

1 thought on “The Binnacle’s Seventh Annual Ultra-Short Competition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s